Follow your passion

Passion, such an evocative word, hard to capture the essence it means different things to different people. Passion: noun, strong and barely controllable emotion, An intense desire or enthusiasm for something:,  A thing arousing great enthusiasm, and of course , Intense physical love, well I have experienced all of these in the past but unusual as it is this post is not about me.

I once read a quote that said, the road to mediocrity is lined with unpublished manuscripts, well I guess that is me, I have two unpublished manuscripts, although my blog posts are well and truly published.  It would be nice to make some money out of them, I have my first ebook ready to go but I would really like to print my  poetry book  in the hard as it were, a paper equivalent of a cd, something to hold in my hand, tangible and real.

I was introduced to a website called Artist Signal, https://artistsignal.com/ it is a place where emerging musical artists are featured and people vote for them.  The artist who has the most votes at the end of the month wins $10,000 dollars in order to assist them to produce an album to release.  I voted for a New Zealand Band Into the East https://www.facebook.com/IntoTheEastFace?fref=ts, they finally got their funding it took a while but they persevered.  I had a crack at something similar called pledgeme. https://www.pledgeme.co.nz/ essentially a crowdfunding opportunity, if people like what you are doing they donate to your project, you give them a reward. Well in my case no one caught my dream, but I haven’t given up yet and I won’t, if I want it enough it will happen.  More lately I have been following a musician by the name of TerryLynn Melody.  I have been following her journey, it has some ups and downs, TerryLynn however has terrylynnshown an awesome commitment, done a great job on marketing.  I decided to share a poem with TerryLynn the other day to encourage her, it turns out that we have a similar philosophy and value some things like integrity.

The tall poppy syndrome often results in people trying to attack the integrity of people who are passionate about what they are doing, usually it is about people who have feelings of inadequacy, perhaps past hurts or disappointment, they sit and criticise everything that over people do. Personal attacks are the hardest thing to weather, especially when you put your heart and soul into what you are doing, you expose your thoughts and feelings in your words, your music, your lyrics.  I have learnt that if you have enough passion, enough purpose, enough perseverance then you will overcome those people.  They will be forever dull shades of grey sitting on the side lines doing nothing much more than being an oxygen thief.

Now why would I support TeryLynn over the others?  I am not really sure, I listened to her music and liked it a lot, but over all I sensed her passion, she is attractive, talented and articulate and I and want to support her.  I try to remember to vote for her as often as I can and this blog is part of it, if you could pop over to her site, https://artistsignal.com/terrylynnmelody have a listen to her music and press the green button by her name you will be showing your support for a talented artist with passion and purpose.

TerryLynn is a fantastic artist who is lighting a match, giving legs to her passion, writing a new  narrative for no other reason than that can I ask you to support her.

Live well, laugh lots, sing, dance and love,

Paul

Remember

Leave a Reply

