Part Two 100 Excuses for Obesity Debunked (well at least 5)

People have asked me what is the secret to losing weight.  They say they have tried this diet and that and as soon as they stop the weight comes back.  They tell me that there metabolism is super slow and that they don’t eat too much, look at my wife/ husband he eats more than me and he/she is skinny.  My knees are buggered, my back is out.  I don’t have time to exercise. It’s my medication, I just don’t burn the calories as quick now as I did when I was 20.  I must go to the Dr and get my thyroid checked.  These are some of the most common reasons I have heard people say when they look at me or hear my story.

I chose these not only because they are common excuses they are all plausible and possibly true but for every one of these there is a simple answer.  You see friends they do not matter, the incidence of a genuine endocrine problem that causes uncontrollable appetite and weight gain is so rare you probably have more chance of winning the lottery. Hypothyroidism does exist but once again rarely.  The simple cause of obesity is calories in versus calories out.

At a recent dinner in the capital I was talking to a young woman who asked me the secret to losing weight,  I prefaced my answer with some advice.  Never ask a question that you don’t want to hear an answer to.  She said you can tell me anything you like as long as you don’t talk about calorie input and output.  So  I turned to her neighbour and asked her how she was.  Fortunately the conversation was well lubricated and she laughed.  I told her our bodies are just a bank account.  Put more calories in than what you need and you will make the account larger.  I was a billionaire!

The hardest part of losing weight was telling myself the truth.  The truth is the only thing that caused me to be  overweight  was looking right back at me in the mirror.  I was the cause of my own obesity.  Yes I had a bad back, yes I was not happy with my life, yes my genetics predisposed me towards obesity but. . . in the end I was in control.  I had to exercise that control over my life.  To do that i needed to have a healthy mind and from a healthy mind I would then extend  to a healthy body.  No secret here at all  very simple.  Healthy mind = healthy body.  More on that next post.  In the meantime comment away feel free to disagree with me if you wish.

Paul

One response to “Part Two 100 Excuses for Obesity Debunked (well at least 5)

  1. Pingback: How I lost 100 lbs (45 kg) Nearly 1/3 of my body weight! | kiwipaulspoetry

Leave a Reply

