A Parable of Hope?

I went to church today. I am an infrequent church goer at the moment. However today I went. Often the sermons that are preached are unremarkable, (read my posts on fear and take your pick as to why I may find them unremarkable) however today was different. The speaker struck a chord with two key issues that he addressed in his exposition of the Sower and the Seed that really rang a bell for me. Not in the terms of this is what I have to do, no not that, oh wow, nirvana, spiritual enlightenment moment but just for their application and confirmation.

I will not repeat the parable you can look it up easy enough if you don’t know it. He spoke about the fact that whatever situation we are in there is always something good to be found in it. Whether the soil in our life is trodden and hard, or full of weeds or rocks matters little. It is still soil, there is some good in it somewhere. He expanded that into looking at people. I find this a little bit more challenging.

That there is good in everybody is a harder place for me to go to. I have met some people in my life that I consider to be truly evil and in my opinion not redeemable. The best thing that could happen to this world would be if they were not to inhabit any space any more. I am a liberal at heart and have a heart for people and possibilities. I am pretty accepting and am told that I have an immense patience (sometimes to my detriment). I have heard it before however I will put that concept on to my back burner for a while.

2 responses to “A Parable of Hope?

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to search out someone with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is one thing that is wanted on the internet, somebody with slightly originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the internet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

